Mochalope Seed Problems

I recently purchased some mochalope seeds from HGCC, along with a variety of others. It’s not my first batch of seeds and I’ve been growing for about 3 years now, but for some reason these specific seeds don’t want to germinate. So far, only 1 of 8 germinated, but opened with no leaves (see pic). The plant in the pic is just over 3 weeks AFTER placing in soil (tap root was over on inch long). I’ve reported this to HGCC, but wanted to see if anyone else was having issues.

2 Likes

Just asking becuse when I have problems like this it is usally temperature related. Was your temperature running lower on this attempt? Did you start this variaty at the same time as the others. You were not clear on that point. If you started them all at the same time your success rate should be comparable. However if you started this variaty buy itself environment would be my first guess.

1 Like

Hmmm. Sure is interesting, huh? Are you going to let them grow out and see what happens? Sometimes I wonder if seeds made from fems would cause this as I have had this issue before, but not from Homegrown, thankfully.

1 Like

Multiple seeds of various strains were started at the same time. All are doing well - as expected - except for the mochalope. I have a germination station I created that gives me uniform results.

As for letting it grow out - definitely. I never waste a plant, no matter what. I did have a GSC plant that was the strangest thing ever - it looked as if all branches were “twisted” along their axis! Got about half an ounce cured out of it, but it was really odd!

2 Likes

I just learned about this in a class I’m taking. Thanks for the trigger so I can go refresh my memory, seems like it might be important. :v:t2:

1 Like

I am glad we have a guarantee when we purchase seeds. It can happen, that is why they guarantee it

3 Likes

Put your teacher hat on, please, @Mrb53004: