New grower looking for advice

Should I be doing something to this plant at this point or let it go longer. This is my first time doing this. I have the water at 5.3 - 6 PH and water 2 times a day.
Looking for help.

4 Likes

I am a beginner as well, but I have lots of other plants…watering twice daily ? I hope someone with more knowledge answers this because that seems like way too much…even though at this point it looks great!

2 Likes

@Doug808 Welcome to homegrown community! Looking good so far! Are you growing this plant outside it looks like? Watering twice daily is fine if you are watering in smaller amounts; just be sure that the soil never is watered too much where it seems muddy. Maybe trying upping the pH to between 6-6.8 if you can.

Also are you feeding any nutrients yet/how old is the plant?

2 Likes

Yes I would strive for a PH of 6.0-6.5, and it’s OK to water 2x daily, but don’t soak them. As they grow bigger, I would water far less frequently. Not sure what you’re using for soil, but depending on that, I’d water them every 3 days. I would let them ALMOST dry out, but not quite, and mine responded quite well. Growth took off, no wilting, and they seemed healthier. P.S. Mine was an INDOOR grow.

4 Likes

I also grow strictly indoors. Watering is always once per day but the timing varies as it’s all automated using pumps with timers. As the plants get bigger and need more water, the amount of watering time is increased as needed.

I use 1- and 2-gallon fabric pots - 2-gallon for plants from seed and 1-gallon for clones. Because the pots are smaller, watering and/or adding nutrients more frequently is a necessity as the plants grow.

This method works well for me because I grow multiple sets of plants at various stages, so the watering can be tailored to each grow. As for nutrients I keep it simple - twice a week they all get appropriate amounts/strengths of nutrients, with strength increasing as they get bigger.