Mental Health vs Different Strains

Greetings to all my fellow Medical and Cannabis friends:
Let’s talk about a serious subject for a moment and that is the wide variety of modern cannabis strains and mental health issues (conditions).

I am a veteran with PTSD, Depression, Chronic pain and epilepsy. Sativas or Hybrids too high in Sativas or certain strains of Sativas can actually cause rage and extreme anxiety in me. Not a good thing.

Indicas seem to be a magic bullet for me and especially some of the more older “Landrace Strains/Cultivars” or what some may consider some of the more “Old School” type strains.

What strains work for you? Are there any Strains you need to avoid because of your condition? Do some strains seem to help with depression or anxiety more than others for you?

Looking to help others with mental health issues collaborate different strains that can be useful to us and to help each other find strains that may help via our own experiences. Peace and Great Health to all!
Warmly,
Jackie

9 Likes

@kanashiihawk I have some of the same issues myself and potent sativas are not good for my anxiety or ptsd. I found its mostly the combination of high thc, the wrong terpenes, and lower cbd.

I like a focused high where I can gather my thoughts and slow my brain down. Indicas slow me down too much and make me feel depressed if I don’t fall asleep so I usually use hybrids some sativa dominant and some indica dominant depending on my needs at the time. I have found that some of the cbd sativa strains are best for this and that the higher cbd helps counteract the negative effects of thc allowing me to have a higher energy but calm clear headed high.

I have also found that strains rich in limonene, beta-caryophyllene, linalool, and alpha-pinene terpenes work best with higher cbd strains and amplify the calming effects of cbd counteracting the effects of higher thc.