Gnats in my plants

My plants all look great but when I picked up one to look at the whole plant I saw little gnats in the soil. This is a new thing and I’m hoping to nip it in the bud… thanks for y’all’s help

2 Likes

Hi Laura! I’m a newbie and asked this same question months ago. I’m sure others with more knowledge will chip in. Food grade D.E. (Demetrius Earth) Was suggested to sprinkle on the soil. I have purchased hanging fly traps that help as well.

Happy growing!

2 Likes

@Lauraroach more than likely this is a cause from overfeeding… You can buy neem oil to control them. They have many organic ways to rid them… sticky strips do good also., just make sure they are not baited with chemicals…also you can get a tuna can put a 50/50 mixture of apple cider vinegar with water and a drop or 2 of dish soap. Just dont spill it in your media…i make my own organic spray in case such an issue would arise…rough up the top 2 inches of your media without damaging sensitive feeder rootz…

2 Likes

@Lauraroach also when and if you use D.E. make sure to wear a mask when dusting.

2 Likes

DE, yellow sticky traps, neem oil/granules all work great, but you need to treat the base issue, too much dampness. Dry your soil back more before watering. You can achieve this by either watering less each time but stay on your same schedule or change your schedule. Either way you need to let your soil dry out more.

You can also top dress with perlite/sand/anything porous 1-2in deep and they will be less likely to breed in the soil.

4 Likes

I have pearlite here so I’ll do that this afternoon. I have had workmen here all week renovating old bathroom to a disability accessible one so I have not been able to pick up the DE. Thanks for the advice everyone :heart: