Difference between topping and fimming

On November 7th I topped one of these white widows and I fimmed the other white widow. If you look at the pictures they are 2 great examples of the difference between the topping and the fimming. These plants are 16 days old in the pictures.

4 Likes

You did a good job fiming that one. Looks like i see 4 tops starting. That’s damn near a perfect fim for your first time. :metal:

2 Likes

@MDBuds I had a good teacher here on the forum, mostly you!

2 Likes

@dmtscravey thanks man happy to help. Did you decide to try scrog this time or are you going alfresco?

Why would you want to top it? This is my first time that I’m getting ready to grow inside and was just wondering why you would want to top it off? I have always loved growing Christmas trees outside so this will be interesting. I guess the fimming is to make it bushier. My tent is 4x4 6ft high with expandable, so plenty of height. How many plants would you suggest I actually grow in that space without overcrowding? Thanks for any advice.

2 Likes

Hello @Munchy and welcome to the forum. Glad to have you!! As far as topping goes the more you top the more colas you get. And as far as the your tent size, i have 5 plants in my 3x3 tent. So with a 4x4 you can easily do 6+ depending on your pot sizes. Im sure @MDBuds can go into more detail about the topping if you have more questions. Happy Growing!!

3 Likes

Hi @Munchy Collette. Welcome to the forum :v:

When you top a plant at a node, the 2 adjacent growth tips become the main colas.

You get bud from 2 main colas instead of from just the natural occurring single main meristem. You can then top those 2 and have 4 mains, etc. Yes, you’ll lose the Christmas tree look, but you’ll end up with more bud in less space :+1:

3 Likes