Wool cubes for starters

Hi guys, I’m just a beginner grower but I have had a decent grow with some blueberry plants. I started them in wool cubes and literally left them in there as I grew a few in hydro buckets and a couple in soil. I had decent success other than some ph problems I eventually fixed.
So having said that. Feeling cocky, I decided to try my hand with some maui wowie fem seeds and sprouted them in wool cubes just like I did with the blueberry plants. I initially soaked the cubes with the seeds inside and watered every 12 hours to keep cubes wet. I put them under a blurple light with 18 hours on and 6 off. But after the seedlings reached about an inch, they just laid over and wilted. Did that with 2 seeds. What’s different about growing these and the blueberries? TIA.

@Lednut what are the temperatures and humidity in your grow space? What you described sounds like what’s called damping off. It’s caused by over watering and higher humidity allowing fungus to breed in the root zone. It happens easier when coupled with lower night temps too.

Seedlings are especially sensitive to damping off. If you don’t aerate your waterings and feedings to allow more oxygen to the root zone you greatly increase the risk of root rot and damping off when you over water.

Damping off is when you water too much and keep the substrate too wet which allows fungus to start growing and suffocate the newly forming root system. The plant just falls over and often the leaves will curl under too. Some plants are more prone to these fungal infections than others.