Starting 1st Auto grow

Hi everyone, I’m new to growing,I’ve had about 3 grow’s under my belt but, I also had quite a bit of help w/ them ( they were all photo grow’s as well )so this will be my 1st auto grow (all on my own )I’m also using coast of Maine products , coast of maine /stonington blend “super soil” & I want to make sure I don’t fk it up n kill my auto babies ,again ugh! i ordered 10 seeds total n all of them germ. but when I put them in coconut coir pellets they died. I then put my last seedling in her forever 5 gal. fabric pot n she died too ! I was told that it was due to the soil being too HOT ( I should’ve used seed starter mix )& taken out a big handful of the soil & put in seed starter mix in the hole n then plant the seedling in that.So now I’ve ordered more auto’s n I’ve gotten everything I think I’ll need .I hope someone on here has some good advice for a newbie Auto grower Thnx

1 Like

@pc420 if you start seedlings using the paper towel method you should transplant directly into the soil after they sprout. Coco discs are unnecessary when started that way.

They probably damped off due to too much moisture after germination or they didn’t get enough and dried out.

If you use the paper towel method and then go into the soil make sure you pre moisten the soil before you plant your germinated seed. Once you pre moisten the soil make a hole just big enough to place the seed and tap root in with roughly 1/4 to 1/2 inch of soil over the top and then tuck it in gently with your fingers. After you plant your seed gently water it in with roughly 1 Oz or a shot glass full of water.

After that just keep an eye on it and they should sprout up within a few days. Try not to get too anxious and over water them. Using a humidity dome might be helpful too depending on the humidity in your growing area.