Odd looking seedling leaves

I am very new to growing cannabis and I had a question about a seedling. I bought some seeds from Homegorwn Cannabis Co a couple of months ago. I am currently growing Critical x Northern Lights Autoflower (HMG-CNBL-FAP4) and Gorilla Glue #4 Autoflower (HMG-GOA-FAP4) in a 3 foot x 2 foot grow tent with a 300W LED. This is my first attempt to grow in a tent. I staggered the grows, the Northern Lights sprouted about 3 1/2 weeks ago and the Gorilla Glue sprouted about 1 1/2 weeks ago. The Northern Lights got off to a slow start with some weird wrinkly looking leaves but once I transplanted it into its final pot, it started growing fast and seems to be thriving now. The Gorilla Glue has started out with some weird looking leaves also. I wish I could post a photo but a new user cannot upload a photo. Has anyone else seen odd wrinkly leaves on seedlings and then the plant eventually starts to grow normal?

3 Likes

This is pretty normal. When a seedling starts growing its first set of real leaves they look wrinkled and usually a medium to a dark green. As long as they aren’t yellow, brown, or dry the plant is healthy.

2 Likes

Awesome. Thanks for the quick response. I have grown outside before and I haven’t seen this. Are these seedlings doing it because they are Autoflower and/or because it is in a tent with an LED light or neither?

2 Likes

Neither. It just has to do with genetics of the plant and the rate of growth. If the picture above is what you meant by wrinkled looking then that is a normal healthy growth of the first real fan leaves before they lose the cotyledons. @Brian.C

2 Likes

The one that I grew outside looked like your picture but neither of the inside seedlings looked like that. They looked very weird almost like a mutant. I wish I could post a photo.

1 Like

20200909_114625