Help! Fungus gnats

I need help please! I’m a true beginner I’ve only ever bought plants that were fully grown. I’ve never started from a seed before. So I have lots of questions. My main concern is fungus gnats. I know they fully stunted the growth to at least 2 of my plants. I’ve replaced the top inch of soil and I’m going to start bottom feeding. But even after removing the infested soil I still noticed some gnats this morning. What can I do??

1 Like

In, so I can see response

So first, dry your soil out more between waterings. Pick your pots up when they are completely dry to see their weight.

Neem oil–water it into the soil or add it as small pellets. Spray foliar

Yellow sticky traps—they work, get the big ones.

DE(Diatomaceous earth) as a top dressing on soil.

Add a quick drying top layer e.g. perlite, sand etc 2 inches deep.

Fans blowing at soil level

If you have a true infestation I’d would reccomend a hydrogen peroxide flooding of your soil. Followed by the above steps.

But if you dont dry your soil out they WILL come back

7 Likes

Mosquito bits soaked in water strain out the bits and use the water as you normally would. One cap full per gallon soaked overnight. This will need to be repeated a couple times as eggs hatch the bits only kills the larvae, yellow sticky traps will take out the adults

3 Likes

I planted this one 2/20 it had the worst infestation

It got to this point about 2 weeks ago and hasn’t grown since. I’m hoping it will recover :crossed_fingers:t3:

You might be able transplant it see if that helps that’s what I would do

@Barron I personally use nematodes to kill and prevent gnats. Spray soil with nematodes and they will kill the larvae and use sticky traps to catch the adults.

Another method that works for me is using garlic spray as a deterrent and using DE on the soil.