Flavored additives

I’m somewhat new to this. The way we did it in high-school wasn’t so demanding, I’ve see flavanoids that can be picked up through the roots. Is this good/bad or in your opinion a waste of time.tips on how you achieve your best yields, nutrients schedule and best seeds in your opinion for someone has experience but the knowledge is basically plant, trim flower and cure.

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

@Casey_J those cannabis flavorings are just a gimmick. They charge an exorbitant amount for something you can do on your own to increase tepene levels.

First and foremost the flavor and terpene profile of a cannabis plant is controlled by genetics so you need to start with genetics capable of producing the desired smell and flavor you want.

Once you source your seeds and cultivars then you just grow as normal but create an environment conducive to terpene development.

Temps at around 70f, rh between 50% and 60% for veg 30% and 40% for flower. Drop rh to 30% or slightly under the last few weeks of flower and it will increase color and terpene profile too.

During the entire grow make sure you are keeping microbes healthy and that you have some good mychorrizal growth in the root zone. Using organic fertilizers will greatly increase terpenes.

When you get into flower after the 2nd week stop using nitrogen all together and use only pk nutrients. Phosphorus and potassium bring out more of the terps and increase your flower size and yield but nitrogen can stunt that.

Use training techniques like lst or kushman chiropractic.

Ligting is a big factor here too. Make sure you have plenty of light. Supplementing with uv-a and uv-b a few hours a day will greatly increase resin production and terpene profiles.