**first grow ever.._help!_**

Can anyone tell me how many plants I can grow in a 27 gallon Commander XXL black bottomed yellow topped tote…outside, hydroponically in a greenhouse?

30.8"L x 20.3"W x 14.5"H

Bruce Banner Fast Version

P.S. I’ll be painting the yellow covers black to avoid alge.

Thank you to any and all.

1 Like

I’ve plant two plants in a totes before and one well be dominate and take from the other

1 Like

Anything over 3 and the roots will get tangled like crazy.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply, it makes me think, perhaps if I hot glue plastic panels or walls between the plants to keep the roots segregated it MAY eliminate the dominance or as @Rye points out, root entanglement. I have a few more days until I begin germination and am still building my totes, so I’m still fluid on the build.

3 Likes

Thank you very much for your reply, I am new to all this, and tried to link you in to my reply to @Daddy1971, but just in case, what do you think about a modification of the totes with walls to separate the plants it would be PRIMO if I could separate it into four, that would be 18 gallons per section…thoughts???

3 Likes

Yes that would work fine putting panels in good ideal

2 Likes

Thank you again, now on to reviewing podcasts and video tutorials for nutrient advise, I think I should transition from one large air stone to four small sir stones, one in each section or perhaps an ultra fine screen for oxygen/airflow between panels. I’ll test it. It’s ALL a learning process for me, this is my prototype, give me 3-4 grows and I’ll have it down.

3 Likes

Reed, skip the plastic panels to separate I imagined up going with poly mesh honey filtering bags to use four in each container allowing about 16 gallons of water space for each 5 gallon mesh bag to hold and separate root systems while allowing water /Oxygen flow to all roots. :grinning:

4 Likes

That sounds great keep us updated

1 Like