1st time pharmer

Gang, I’m an old dude who is trying a grow for the 1st time since the 74. My flowers seem to be stalled and I’m not sure why. First, the basics: Using a 5 gal pot….so to speak, and growing GSC. Branches trained, topped after 6 nodes, Big Bud fert in the water can, pruned the fan leaves, lower branches and inner flowers. So, do I need to eliminate more leaves? More lower/inner flowers? Lop off the 2 lower branches? Just chill and see how she does? I worked in the industry for 3 years before retired, and had a gas, but never learned any growing tips. Your help is greatly appreciated.

4 Likes

Hi @Bugdoc Plant looks ok to me in this picture. Is this an auto variety?

Indeed it is, but man, the flowers seem stuck in neutral, though showing some signs of expanding.

plant looks pretty healthy from the pic, not sure if its an auto or photo, the only concern i would have is enough air flow as it looks pretty dense… :+1:

CRAP! No, not auto flower, rather sexed. Sorry

The breezes outdoors do help, but should I prune some more leaves?

Maybe I’m just a nervous dad-to-be waiting for a bunch of big bouncing baby buds. Here’s a close up of the flowers. Perhaps it’s normal to take such a long time, but it’s been about 3 weeks since they first appeared.

1 Like

it all looks normal to me at about 3 weeks, we do alot of waiting as growers, we usually mess things up when we get tired of waiting & try to push things along, as far as trimming more, you will have to be the judge of that, it just looks pretty bushy to me, but so do some of mine. i just like having good airflow as its been a very soggy summer here in the northeast, just watch out for mold…

4 Likes

Good advice. I’m seeking the balance between having enough leaves (minus the fan leaves) to generate food for the plant, yet not too many that the energy requirement for them makes the buds smaller. Here’s hoping!

1 Like